Albany Wins Second Straight Tavistock Cup

Ian Poulter birdied the first playoff hole to give Albany the win over Lake Nona in the Tavistock Cup. The two-day event, featuring some of the world's top touring pros, was held at Isleworth in Windermere, Fla.

Because the Arnold Palmer Invitational in Orlando was completed on Monday, the first round of the Tavistock Cup had only a partial field and there was no official scoring because of the absence of many entrants who were completing play at Bay Hill in Orlando.

So it all came down to Tuesday, which featured all 24 players, with four each representing the six clubs - Florida clubs Isleworth and Lake Nona, Albany in the Bahamas, Oak Tree National in Edmond, Okla., Primland in Virginia and Queenwood Golf Club in Surrey, England.

Albany finished 18 holes tied with Lake Nona at 7-over par on a windy day that saw scores skyrocket. Primland and Isleworth missed out on the playoff by a stroke, while Oak Tree National (+12) and Queenwood (+20) finished well back.

Coming off his eighth victory in the Arnold Palmer Invitational, Tiger Woods missed a long birdie putt on the par-4 18th that would have won the tournament for Albany, so the club settled for a tie with Lake Nona. Two players from Albany - Woods and Poulter, and Lake Nona - Graeme McDowell and Henrik Stenson, were selected to play the 18th hole again in the best-ball sudden-death playoff.

On the 19th hole, Poulter hit his approach to five feet and made the birdie putt for the win.

Primland's Webb Simpson won the Payne Stewart Silver Salver award with the day's low score of 2-under 70. In the Closest to the Pin competitions, Brian Davis won Hole No. 2 (3'9"), McDowell the fifth (3'7"), Tim Clark the 11th (2'1") and Ross Fisher (3'4") the 15th.

The tournament offers prize money and has generated millions of dollars for philanthropic organizations worldwide, including various player charities as well as education, health and human services, youth development and community programs designed to grow the game. The overall winner is declared the World Golf and Country Club champion.

For complete scoring details, visit