Another Honor for McIlroy

Rory McIlroy will need to clear more room in his trophy case. After taking the money-list titles on both the PGA and European tours, the Northern Irishman has been awarded the 2012 Golf Writers' Trophy.

The award, originated in 1951, is given by the British-based Association of Golf Writers in recognition of the best performance by a golfer who was born or resides in Europe, including teams.

McIlroy, who was named earlier this month as the PGA Tour's player of the year, finished ahead of the victorious European Ryder Cup team and England's Roger Chapman.

McIlroy won five times in 2012, with four titles - including his second career major at the PGA Championship - coming in the U.S. The 23-year-old capped off his outstanding season with a late-November victory in the European Tour's DP World Championship in Dubai.

"The 2012 season was a superb one for every aspect of European golf and that comes across when you look at the names of the players in contention for the Golf Writers' Trophy," said McIlroy, the world's No. 1-ranked player. "To come out on top of that list is a great honor."

The European Ryder Cup team overcame a 10-6 deficit entering the last day at Medinah Country Club near Chicago, winning eight-and-half points in Sunday's 12 singles matches to retain the Cup. McIroy finished with a 3-2-0 record.

Chapman won two major titles this year on the Champions Tour; both came in the state of Michigan. The 53-year-old joined Gary Player, Jack Nicklaus and Hale Irwin as the only players to win the Senior PGA Championship and U.S. Senior Open in the same season.

Also in the running for the Golf Writers' Trophy was the European Curtis Cup team, which beat the Americans 10 to 9 at Nairn Golf Club in Scotland. With its Ryder and Curtis cup wins in 2012, for the first time ever Europe possesses all four of the main trans-Atlantic trophies: the Ryder, Solheim (2011), Walker (2011) and Curtis cups.