Arizona State Coach Named to Coaches' Hall of Fame

The Golf Coaches Association of America has named ASU men's golf coach Randy Lein as its lone inductee in its 2008 Hall of Fame class.

Over 17 seasons Lein has guided the Sun Devils to 41 tournament victories - including a school record six in 1995-96. He also led teams to eight Pac-10 titles, four NCAA West Regional wins, eight top-10 finishes in the NCAA Championships, and the NCAA title in 1996.

ASU players under Lein's tutelage include NCAA medalists Todd Demsey and Alejandro Caņizares, along with 14 PING All-Americans who claimed the honor 34 times. More than 45 players have earned undergraduate degrees under Lein. He has won Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Year honors five times at Arizona State and twice while at Southern California.

"I'm very honored to join such an elite group," said Lein. "To have your peers acknowledge what you have accomplished over the course of your career is most gratifying. To be recognized alongside the great coaches and contributors to college golf is very humbling."

Lein will be inducted during the GCAA Hall of Fame Reception and Awards Banquet Monday, January 26 at the Doubletree at Universal Orlando in Orlando.