Bill Clinton to Receive 2014 PGA Distinguished Service Award

The PGA of America had announced that President Bill Clinton, founder of the Clinton Foundation and 42nd president of the United States, will be awarded its 2014 PGA Distinguished Service Award recipient for his lifetime love of golf and commitment to health and wellness.

Begun in 1988, the PGA Distinguished Service Award honors outstanding individuals who display leadership and humanitarian qualities, including integrity, sportsmanship and enthusiasm for the game of golf. President Clinton will receive the association's highest annual honor in conjunction with the 96th PGA Championship at Valhalla Golf Club in Louisville, Ky. Previous honorees include Bob Hope, Byron Nelson, Arnold Palmer, Patty Berg, Jack Nicklaus and former presidents Gerald Ford (1991) and George H.W. Bush (1997).

"President Clinton's life in public service is a study in making a difference in people's lives. His own journey to achieve wellness has resulted in a passion that involves the game of golf," said PGA of America president Ted Bishop. "President Clinton shares the mission of the PGA of America to encourage our country's young people to develop a healthier lifestyle through golf. For his work and the example he sets to motivate young people, we are honored to present this year's PGA Distinguished Service Award to President Clinton."

After leaving the White House, President Clinton established the Clinton Foundation with the mission to improve global health, strengthen economies, promote health and wellness, and protect the environment. In addition to his Foundation work, President Clinton has served as the top United Nations envoy for the Indian Ocean tsunami recovery effort and as the UN Special Envoy to Haiti.

Since 2012, the Clinton Foundation has partnered with Humana, the PGA Tour and the Desert Classic Charities to present the Humana Challenge. The Humana Challenge has showcased the long-term health benefits of simple lifestyle and behavioral changes.

PGA Distinguished Service Award Recipients

1988 Herb Graffis
1989 Bob Hope
1990 No recipient
1991 Hon. Gerald R. Ford
1992 Gene Sarazen
1993 Byron Nelson
1994 Arnold Palmer
1995 Patty Berg
1996 Frank Chirkinian
1997 Hon. George H.W. Bush
1998 Paul Runyan
1999 Bill Dickey
2000 Jack Nicklaus
2001 Mark McCormack
2002 Tim Finchem
2003 Vince Gill
2004 Pete Dye
2005 Wally Uihlein
2006 Fred Ridley
2007 Jack Burke Jr.
2008 Dennis Walters
2009 William Powell
2010 Billy Casper
2011 Larry Nelson
2012 Dave Stockton
2013 Lee Trevino
2014 Hon. Bill Clinton

The above report is courtesy of the PGA of America. For more information, visit