Canadian Tour Honors Handed Out

The Canadian Tour has named California's Byron Smith as its Rolex Player of the Year. Smith, 26, captured two events and had five top-10 finishes in just 12 starts to lead the Canadian Tour Order of Merit, earning $91,202.

Fellow Californian Spencer Levin was named Rookie of the Year after a remarkable season that saw him win twice and finish in the top-10 seven times in just 10 events. Levin, 23, was the No. 2-ranked amateur in the world before turning professional. He finished T-13th at the 2004 U.S. Open as an amateur and already has several strong finishes on the PGA Tour to his credit. Levin has earned fully exempt status on the Nationwide Tour for the 2008 season.

Canadian Rookie of the Year honors went to Graham DeLaet of Weyburn, Sask. The 25-year-old finished 13th on the Order of Merit while picking up seven top-10 finishes in 14 appearances. Other Canadian Tour alumni who have earned the honor include Mike Weir, David Hearn and Chris Baryla.

In the category of honorable mention, one of the most consistent performances of the season came from Derek Gillespie. The Oshawa, Ont., native and University of Arizona Hall of Fame member finished second three times, landed inside the top-10 five times and led the Tour in birdies and eagles. Gillespie, 29, missed just one cut all season to finish third on the Order of Merit as the leading Canadian with a 69.78 stroke average.