Colorado Golf Club to Host Senior PGA Championship in 2010

Colorado Golf Club, which opened for play in 2007, has been selected as the site of the 71st Senior PGA Championship. The tournament will be held May 24-30, 2010, at the course in Parker, Colo., approximately 25 minutes southeast of Denver.

The course was co-designed by Bill Coore and two-time Masters champion and 1999 Ryder Cup Captain Ben Crenshaw. It will become the site of the first PGA of America championship in Colorado since 1985, when Hubert Green captured the 67th PGA Championship at Cherry Hills Country Club in Denver.

The 71st Senior PGA Championship also becomes the third major championship in senior golf to be held in Colorado, following the 1993 U.S. Senior Open at Cherry Hills and the 2008 U.S. Senior Open at The Broadmoor.

"Colorado Golf Club's pedigree on the American golf landscape is barely over two years old, but it lies on a piece of property that seems like it was destined to be the site of a great golf course," said PGA of America President Jim Remy. "The PGA of America is very excited to be able to host the Senior PGA Championship at Colorado Golf Club in the spring of 2010, which will connect the greatest senior players in the game to Colorado's enthusiastic and knowledgeable golf fans."

Colorado Golf Club is surrounded by 1,100 acres of open space. The par-72 layout can be stretched to 7,604 yards, making it the longest layout to host a Senior PGA Championship.

"The Colorado Golf Club is a beautiful natural site for golf," said Crenshaw. "The excellent topography lent itself to a diversity of holes, providing a challenge to all golfers. It's a well-rounded test which will showcase the individual player's skills in the Senior PGA Championship."

Colorado Golf Club plays through open meadows, wooded hillsides, natural barancas and streams. It features a variety of holes and a mix of shots - short and long, uphill and downhill that demands imaginative shot-making.

Begun in 1937, the Senior PGA Championship is the oldest major championship in senior golf. It was born on the grounds of another of golf's majors at the invitation of one of the game's greatest players. At the suggestion of renowned amateur Bobby Jones, the inaugural Senior PGA Championship was conducted at Augusta National Golf Club three years after the first Masters.

Many of the game's greatest players have won the Championship's Alfred S. Bourne Trophy. The roster includes Gene Sarazen, Sam Snead, Arnold Palmer, Gary Player, Lee Trevino, Jack Nicklaus, Raymond Floyd, Hale Irwin, Tom Watson and Jay Haas.

For more information about the 2010 Senior PGA Championship, visit