Free Admission for Senior Players Championship

The PGA Tour announced Monday that admission will be free to this year's Senior Players Championship. The last major of the year on the Champions Tour will be held October 7-10 at the recently remodeled TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm in Potomac, Md., near Washington, D.C.

The complimentary admission policy will in effect all week long to every fan that enters the tournament grounds, making the event the first major championship on any of the American tours to offer such an attendance incentive.

"This year's Constellation Energy Senior Players Championship brings with it a patriotic theme and will honor our nation's military as the event moves to our nation's capital," said tournament Executive Director Steve Schoenfeld.

"What better way to enhance this celebration than to provide complimentary grounds admission to all spectators. We are working diligently to find a fourth sponsor to step up to support the complimentary grounds admission program to all spectators for Thursday."

"We're excited that this special promotion will allow golf fans in the D.C. area to be treated to the very best the Champions Tour has to offer at this year's Constellation Energy Senior Players Championship," said Mike Stevens, Champions Tour president.

"Similar-type promotions had been done at other Champions Tour events and have been met with tremendous success in increasing attendance, raising awareness of the Champions Tour and positively impacting the tournament's charitable contribution."

The Champions Tour's 3M Championship in Minnesota, Administaff Championship in Houston and Allianz Championship in Florida previously offered free week-long admission, while a few other events on the over-50 circuit have offered free admission for one round.

The policy moved forward thanks to support from corporate sponsors Golf Galaxy, the Telos Corporation and OMNITEC Solutions. Each of the companies is sponsoring a round, and a search continues for a sponsor for the fourth round. Constellation Energy is the event's title sponsor.

Those who've committed to the Senior Players Championship include defending champion Jay Haas, Tom Watson, Nick Price, Hale Irwin, Jeff Sluman and Craig Stadler.