Furyk Named Player of the Year; Kuchar Earns Vardon Trophy

Jim Furyk's strong finish at season's end, which included a victory in the Tour Championship, vaulted him to his first-ever PGA Player of the Year Award. Furyk won three events in 2010, just enough to surpass U.S. Ryder Cup teammates Matt Kuchar and Steve Stricker, who shared second.

Furyk collected 60 points, while Kuchar and Stricker each tabulated 50. The three were followed by Ernie Els and Phil Mickelson with 46 and 42 points, respectively. Furyk earned 30 victory points by capturing the Transitions Championship, Verizon Heritage and Tour Championship. He also garnered 18 points for ranking second on the money list and 12 for finishing fifth (69.83) in the adjusted scoring average list.

Kuchar, the season's money leader with $4,910,477, captured his first Vardon Trophy in the tightest race in years. He completed 97 rounds with a 69.61 adjusted scoring average, .05 lower than Stricker (69.66). Paul Casey and Retief Goosen shared third at 69.72.

Named in honor of famed British golfer Harry Vardon, the Vardon Trophy is awarded annually to the touring professional with the lowest adjusted scoring average. It is based on a minimum of 60 rounds - with no incomplete rounds - in events co-sponsored or designated by the PGA Tour. The adjusted score is computed from the average score of the field at each event.

The PGA Player of the Year, first presented in 1948, and the Vardon Trophy, which originated in 1937, are the PGA of America's premier season-ending awards for excellence by a Tour professional. Points were tabulated from January 1 through last weekend's Children's Miracle Network Classic.

Final 2010 Player of the Year Standings

Jim Furyk - 60
Steve Stricker - 50
Matt Kuchar - 50
Ernie Els - 46
Phil Mickelson - 42
Dustin Johnson - 34
Graeme McDowell - 30
Martin Kaymer - 30
Justin Rose - 30

Final Vardon Cup Standings

Matt Kuchar - 69.61
Steve Stricker - 69.66
Paul Casey - 69.72
Retief Goosen - 69.72
Jim Furyk - 69.83
Ernie Els - 69.84
Luke Donald - 69.85
Justin Rose - 69.88
Bo Van Pelt - 69.96
Phil Mickelson - 69.97

The above report is courtesy of the PGA of America. For additional information, visit www.pga.com.