Jamie Farr Classic to Return in 2010

The LPGA Tour and the Jamie Farr Classic have announced a one-year extension of the 25-year-old event and it will be held once again in 2010.

"We are pleased to return to the Toledo area for the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic, a staple on the LPGA Tour for 25 years," said Marty Evans, acting LPGA commissioner. "The fans in Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan embrace our players and appreciate the impressive level of golf and sports entertainment that they provide the community and the tournament sponsors. We appreciate the commitment of the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic and its sponsors, which has produced so many great winners over the years, counting Hall of Famers as well as up-and-comers on its list of champions."

The tournament will continue to be held at Highland Meadows Golf Club near Toledo in Sylvania, Ohio. The 2010 tournament will feature a $1 million purse with its final round on the 4th of July.

"Owens Corning is proud to continue as the title sponsor of the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic," stated Owens Corning CEO Mike Thaman. "We are pleased to partner with the LPGA and support an event that will benefit both the LPGA and the Northwest Ohio community."

"On behalf of everyone involved with the Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic, I want to express my appreciation to the LPGA for working with us to ensure the successful continuation of our event in the greater Toledo area," said Judd Silverman, executive director of the event. "For years we've dedicated our efforts to bringing the LPGA to the Toledo area while raising money for local and regional children's charities. As a result of the tournament, we've contributed more than $6.2 million to more than 100 children's charities in the area. We are extremely happy to know that the great golf fans in Northwest Ohio will once again get to see the greatest women golfers in the world while helping the tournament raise money for area children's charities."

The Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic debuted in 1984 and, with the exception of 1986, has been held ever since. The tournament has featured some of the best players in LPGA history, including Annika Sorenstam, Paula Creamer, Laura Davies, Meg Mallon, Patty Sheehan, two-time winner Kelly Robbins and five-time Jamie Farr Classic champion Se Ri Pak. The event has been played at Highland Meadows since 1989. The event just celebrated its 25th staging with Eunjung Yi earning a playoff victory over Morgan Pressel.