McIlroy Named PGA of America Player of the Year

The first of what is expected to be a slew of year-ending awards have come to Rory McIlroy. The 23-year-old Northern Irishman and four-time PGA Tour winner this year - including the 2012 PGA Championship, will receive his first PGA of America Player of the Year Award as well as the Vardon Trophy.

McIlroy became the fourth youngest PGA champion on August 12 with a record eight-stroke triumph at the Ocean Course in Kiawah Island, S.C. He also captured the season earnings and adjusted scoring average titles, finishing with 100 points, while Tiger Woods - a three-time winner this season - was runner-up with 66 points. Woods is the all-time leader in both season-ending awards, having captured 10 PGA Player of the Year - first presented in 1948 - awards and eight Vardon Trophies (initiated in 1937) since 1997.

McIlroy earned 60 victory points for his victories in the Honda Classic, PGA Championship, Deutsche Bank Championship and BMW Championship, and gained 20 points for taking the money earnings title and 20 more for adjusted scoring with a 68.87 average based upon the award-minimum 60 rounds. Woods earned 30 points for victories at the Arnold Palmer Invitational, Memorial Tournament and AT&T National, and 18 points each for the season money list and season scoring average.

However, Woods was ineligible for the Vardon Trophy after withdrawing in the final round of the WGC-Cadillac Championship on March 11. The incomplete round resulted in a .10 penalty to his adjusted scoring average (from 68.90 to 69.00).

Jason Dufner and Masters winner Bubba Watson tied for third with 50 overall points, followed by Tour champion Brandt Snedeker with 36 and Matt Kuchar with 34.

The above report is courtesy of the PGA of America. For more information, visit