McIlroy Takes Lead in Player of the Year & Vardon Trophy Races

Rory McIlroy's record-setting PGA Championship victory elevated him into the lead in his bid for his first PGA of America Player of the Year Award and the Vardon Trophy.

McIlroy, 23, became the fourth-youngest PGA champion August 12, moving past Tiger Woods, 76-70, in the points' standings for the PGA Player of the Year Award, based on victories, money earnings and adjusted scoring average. Woods is the all-time leader in both season-ending awards, having captured 10 PGA Player of the Year awards and eight Vardon Trophies since 1997.

The PGA Player of the Year was first presented in 1948, and the Vardon Trophy in 1937.

McIlroy earned 40 victory points for his victories in the Honda Classic and PGA Championship, and is second behind Woods in season earnings and adjusted scoring - each worth 18 points. Woods has 70 total points, based on 30 points for winning the Arnold Palmer Invitational, the Memorial Tournament and the AT&T National, and 20 points each for leading the season money list and the season scoring average.

However, Woods is ineligible for the Vardon Trophy after withdrawing in the final round of the WGC-Cadillac Championship on March 11. The incomplete round resulted in a .10 penalty to his adjusted scoring average, (from 68.91 to 69.01), moving McIlroy to the top of the Vardon standings. Woods' adjusted average after the penalty, however, allowed him to retain the lead in the scoring column for the PGA Player of the Year Award.

Jason Dufner is third overall with 50 overall points, followed by Masters champion Bubba Watson with 46 and Matt Kuchar with 42.

The above report is courtesy of the PGA of America. For more information, visit