NCAA Women's Regionals Set to Commence

UCLA (West), Arizona State (Central) and Duke (East) are the No. 1 seeds for the NCAA Women's Regionals, which will be played May 6-8 at three sites across the U.S.

Arizona State's disqualification because of two players' illness at last week's Pac-10 Championship cost the Sun Devils the overall top spot in the Golfweek/Sagarin College Rankings. UCLA took over as the new No. 1 seed.

Twenty-four teams and three individuals made each of the three Regionals. The top eight teams and two individuals from each region will advance to the NCAA Championships.

A total of 369 participants have been selected for the regional competition. Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals. Eight teams and two individuals will advance from each regional.

The championships finals will be held May 18-21 at the Country Club of Landfall in Wilmington, N.C. and be hosted by the University of North Carolina, Wilmington.

Here is the complete list of teams and individual players entered, and the respective sites of the Regionals (courtesy of the NCAA).

East Regional

The East regional will be played May 6-8 at Ironwood Country Club, Greenville, N.C., and hosted by East Carolina University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.


1. Duke
2. Auburn
3. Wake Forest (Atlantic Coast Conference)
4. Pepperdine
5. Vanderbilt
6. Tennessee
7. Florida
8. TCU
9. North Carolina
10. South Carolina
11. Tulane (Conference USA)
12. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
13. Washington
14. Texas Tech
15. Georgia State (Colonial Athletic Association)
16. Campbell
17. East Tennessee State
18. Furmanv 19. Coastal Carolina
20. East Carolina
21. College of Charleston
22. Stetson (Atlantic Sun Conference)
23. Charleston Southern (Big South Conference)
24. Fairleigh Dickinson (Northeast Conference)


1. Sofia Hagsund, North Carolina-Wilmington
2. Shena Yang, South Florida
3. Nicole Sakamoto, James Madison

Central Regional

The Central regional will be played May 6-8 at the Otter Creek Golf Course, Columbus, Ind., hosted by Indiana University, Bloomington. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.


1. Arizona State
2. Southern California
3. Purdue (Big Ten Conference)
4. Michigan State
5. Georgia
6. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)
7. New Mexico (Mountain West Conference)
8. Florida State
9. Oklahoma State
10. Louisville (Big East Conference)
11. Oregon
12. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)
13. Northwestern
14. Notre Dame
15. Mississippi
16. San Diego State
17. Baylor
18. Tulsa
19. North Carolina State
20. Indiana
21. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)
22. Murray State (Ohio Valley Conference)
23. Detroit (Horizon League)
24. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)


1. Ashley Bauer, Michigan
2. Olivia Lansing, Drake
3. Julia Potter, Missouri

West Regional

The West regional will be played May 6-8 at the Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, Calif., and hosted by Stanford University. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in parenthesis next to the institution.


2. Alabama (Southeastern Conference)
3. Arizona (Pacific-10 Conference)
4. Ohio State
5. Virginia
6. Stanford
7. LSU
8. California
9. Texas A&M (Big 12 Conference)
10. Texas
11. UC Davis (Big West Conference)
12. Arkansas
13. UNLV
14. San Jose State (Western Athletic Conference)
15. San Francisco
16. Idaho
17. UC Irvine
18. Iowa State
19. Maryland
20. Colorado State
21. Oral Roberts (Summit League)
22. Texas State (Southland Conference)
23. Pennsylvania (Ivy Group)
24. Portland State (Big Sky Conference)


1. Amy Anderson, North Dakota State
2. Teresa Puga, Minnesota
3. Ellen Mueller, Oklahoma