O'Hair & Perry Tied for Shootout Lead with Two Other Teams

Kenny Perry and Sean O'Hair are off to a good start in defending their title in the Franklin Templeton Shootout. The 54-hole, two-man team event is taking place at Tiburon Golf Club in Naples, Fla.

In Friday's modified alternate-shot format, Perry and O'Hair combined to shoot an 8-under 64, the same number recorded by the duos of Harris English and Matt Kuchar, and Charles Howell III and Justin Leonard.

Perry, who now plays mostly on the Champions Tour, and O'Hair are trying to become the first back-to-back winners since Hank Kuehne and Jeff Sluman did so in 2003 and '04.

Carding a 67 were Retief Goosen and Freddie Jacobson, while another stroke back are Chris DiMarco and Billy Horschel, and Jason Dufner and Dustin Johnson.

Rory Sabbatini and Scott Verplank had a 69, while rounding out the leaderboard in the 12-team event are Ian Poulter and Lee Westwood (70), Jerry Kelly and Steve Stricker (71), Jonas Blixt and tournament host Greg Norman and Mark Calcavecchia and Chad Campbell (72), and Canadians Graham DeLaet and Mike Weir (73).

The total purse for the event is $3.1 million. Saturday's second round will be a better-ball, while Sunday will conclude with a scramble.

For all the scores, visit http://leaderboard.franklintempletonshootout.com/.