Tavistock Cup Shortened to One Day

Because the Arnold Palmer Invitational in Orlando was completed on Monday, the first round of the Tavistock Cup had only a partial field. There was no official scoring because of the absence of many entrants who were completing their final rounds at Bay Hill in Orlando.

The event this year pits touring professionals from Florida clubs Isleworth and Lake Nona, Albany in the Bahamas, Oak Tree National in Edmond, Okla., Primland in Virginia and Queenwood Golf Club in Surrey, England. Isleworth in Windermere is the host club.

Tuesday's second round will feature all 24 players, with four each representing the six clubs. Among those on hand will be Tiger Woods, who won the Arnold Palmer Invitational by two strokes for his 77th PGA Tour title. Tuesday's round will be broadcast on Golf Channel.

Monday's competition featured a better-ball stroke-play format. The low scoring twosomes were Tim Clark and Adam Scott at 8-under; Fred Couples/Jay Haas and Ross Fisher/Graeme McDowell at 7-under; Peter Hanson/Webb Simpson and Bo Van Pelt/Bubba Watson at 6-under; Brian Davis/D.A. Points at 3-under and Bob Tway/Scott Verplank at 2-under.

The Tavistock Cup will be reduced to an 18-hole individual stroke-play format on Tuesday, with each team counting four 18-hole individual scores to determine the overall winner.

Albany is the defending champion in the tournament, which offers prize money and has generated millions of dollars for philanthropic organizations worldwide, including various player charities as well as education, health and human services, youth development and community programs designed to grow the game. The overall winner is declared the World Golf and Country Club champion.

Tickets are not sold to the public; only club members, residents, sponsors, designated charities and invited guests can attend the event. There are no ropes separating spectators from the players. Spectators wear the official team colors of Albany Pink, Isleworth Red, Lake Nona Blue, Oak Tree Orange, Primland Gold or Queenwood Green in support of their teams.

Tuesday's pairings include:

9:20 a.m. Graeme McDowell (Lake Nona), Ian Poulter (Albany), Adam Scott (Queenwood)
9:35 a.m. Ross Fisher (Lake Nona), Bill Haas (Primland), D.A. Points (Isleworth)
9:50 a.m. Jay Haas (Primland), Paul McGinley (Queenwood), Bob Tway (Oak Tree National)
10:05 a.m. Charles Howell III (Oak Tree National), Justin Rose (Albany), Bubba Watson (Isleworth)
10:20 a.m. Tim Clark (Albany), Henrik Stenson (Lake Nona), Bo Van Pelt (Isleworth)
10:35 a.m. Peter Hanson (Lake Nona), Martin Laird (Queenwood), Webb Simpson (Primland)
10:50 a.m. Brian Davis (Isleworth), Tom Lewis (Queenwood), Scott Verplank (Oak Tree National)
11:05 a.m. Fred Couples (Primland), Rickie Fowler (Oak Tree National), Tiger Woods (Albany)

For scoring updates, visit www.tavistockcup.com.