Tiger Captures 11th PGA of America Player of the Year Award & Ninth Vardon Trophy

Five-time winner Tiger Woods was awarded his 11th PGA of America Player of the Year Award and ninth Vardon Trophy. The PGA of America's season-ending awards for excellence by a Tour professional were announced Tuesday. It was the first time since 2009 that Woods earned both awards.

Completing his 16th full season on the Tour, Woods won the Players Championship and two World Golf Championships among his five titles. He finished as the season's money leader, and took the Vardon Trophy by posting the lowest adjusted scoring average (68.98) on the season.

Woods collected 100 overall points, while Masters champion Adam Scott was next with 64. Henrik Stenson, winner of Sunday's Tour Championship and FedEx Cup, shared third at 54 points with U.S. Open winner Justin Rose and British Open champion Phil Mickelson. Tour rookie Jordan Spieth finished ninth in the PGA Player of the Year standings, after placing eight in scoring and 10th on the money list.

Woods claimed the Vardon Trophy by finishing his Tour campaign with 61 complete rounds, one above the minimum required 60 to be considered for the award.

Woods' 60 overall victory points were based on wins in the Farmers Insurance Open, WGC-Cadillac Championship, Arnold Palmer Invitational, Players Championship (worth 20 points) and WGC-Bridgestone Invitational. He earned 20 points as the money leader, and 20 more for adjusted scoring average.

Scott also won the Barclays Championship, was fourth in scoring (69.34) and sixth on the money list.

The PGA of America has honored the PGA Player of the Year Award since 1948. The award is presented to the top touring professional based on a point system for tournament wins, official money standings, and scoring averages. Points are tabulated from January 1 through the Tour Championship.

Since 1937, the Vardon Trophy, named by the PGA of America after famed British golfer Harry Vardon, is awarded annually to the touring pro with the lowest adjusted scoring average. It is based on a minimum of 60 rounds, with no incomplete rounds, in events co-sponsored or designated by the PGA Tour. The adjusted score is computed from the average score of the field at each event.

The PGA Tour separately recognizes its annual Player of the Year, with the winner determined by a vote of the membership. The voting period commences after the conclusion of the Tour Championship. The PGA Tour's Player of the Year, who receives the Jack Nicklaus Trophy, will be announced prior to the start of the 2013-14 season.

Additionally, the Tour recognizes the Rookie of the Year, also determined by a vote among Tour members. In select years, a PGA Tour Courage Award will be presented to a player who, through courage and perseverance, has overcome extraordinary adversity to make a significant and meaningful contribution to golf. The recipient of this award will be selected by commissioner Tim Finchem and the Tour's Player Directors.

Other season-ending honors to be announced by the PGA Tour include the Arnold Palmer Award for the leading money-winner, and the Byron Nelson Award, presented to the player with the lowest adjusted scoring average (minimum of 50 official rounds).

The above report is courtesy of the PGA of America. For more information, visit www.pga.com.