USGA Accepts over 2,700 Entries for U.S. Senor Open

The United States Golf Association (USGA) has announced that 2,746 golfers have entered to play in the 2013 U.S. Senior Open Championship, scheduled for July 11-14 at Omaha (Neb.) Country Club. Twelve past champions are among the 78 players who are currently fully exempt into the field for the championship.

"We look forward to bringing the U.S. Senior Open Championship to Nebraska and Omaha Country Club for the first time this July," said Thomas J. O'Toole Jr., USGA vice president and Championship Committee chairman. "The U.S. Senior Open is considered the world's premier championship for men's senior golfers. The number of entries demonstrates the great interest in playing for the coveted Francis D. Ouimet Memorial Trophy."

The U.S. Senior Open is open to professional and amateur golfers with a USGA Handicap Index® not exceeding 3.4 who are 50 years of age at the start of championship play.

Sectional qualifying will be played over 18 holes at 34 sites across the United States June 17-27. In addition, places in the 156-player field are reserved for eligible winners of official PGA Tour and Champions Tour events in the weeks remaining before the 2013 U.S. Senior Open.

The USGA received entries for the 34th U.S. Senior Open from golfers in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. A total of 81 applicants represent 27 foreign countries.

Roger Chapman, the 2012 champion, and 11 other champions are fully exempt from having to qualify for the championship. They are: Olin Browne (2011), Brad Bryant (2007), Allen Doyle (2005, 2006), Dave Eichelberger (1999), Fred Funk (2009), Hale Irwin (1998, 2000), Peter Jacobsen (2004), Bernhard Langer (2010), Graham Marsh (1997), Don Pooley (2002) and Eduardo Romero (2008).

For the third consecutive year, only online entries were accepted. James Rue, a 58-year-old professional from Dayton, Ohio, submitted his entry less than five minutes before the deadline of 5 p.m. EDT on June 5. Brian Gold, a 58-year-old amateur from Burr Ridge, Ill., was the first entrant.

2013 U.S. Senior Open Exemption List (as of June 5):

Michael Allen
Jay Don Blake
Olin Browne
Brad Bryant
Mark Calcavecchia
Roger Chapman
Russ Cochran
John Cook
Fred Couples
Joe Daley
Allen Doyle
Dave Eichelberger
Steve Elkington
Brad Faxon
Dan Forsman
Peter Fowler
David Frost
Fred Funk
Bob Gilder
Bill Glasson
Mike Goodes
Jay Haas
Gary Hallberg
a-Doug Hanzel
Scott Hoch
John Huston
Kouki Idoki
Hale Irwin
Peter Jacobsen
Steve Jones
Tom Kite
Barry Lane
Bernhard Langer
Tom Lehman
Steve Lowery
Chien Soon Lu
Graham Marsh
Dick Mast
Mark McNulty
Rocco Mediate
Larry Mize
Colin Montgomerie
Gil Morgan
Larry Nelson
Mark O'Meara
Joe Ozaki
Jerry Pate
Corey Pavin
Tom Pernice Jr.
Kenny Perry
Don Pooley
Nick Price
Tom Purtzer
Mike Reid
Loren Roberts
Eduardo Romero
Gene Sauers
Peter Senior
Scott Simpson
a-Paul Simson
Joey Sindelar
a-Curtis Skinner
Jeff Sluman
Craig Stadler
Hal Sutton
Lance Ten Broeck
Tim Thelen
Esteban Toledo
Kirk Triplett
Bob Tway
Duffy Waldorf
Tom Watson
D.A. Weibring
Paul Wesselingh
Mark Wiebe
Chris Williams
Gary Wolstenholme
Willie Wood

The above report is courtesy of the USGA. For more information, visit